

CKE Community Association

Minutes of the 62nd Annual General Meeting – June 13, 2024 @ 7:00 pm Platform: CKE Community Hall

Special Guests:

- Christa Zaharychuk Neighbourhood Partnership Coordinator, City of Calgary
- Jennifer Sherstabetoff

Attendance:

Voting members (including Directors)

Meeting Called to Order at 7:12 pm

- Glen introduced the current board in attendance and thanked the directors who are stepping down for their service.
- Glen introduced special guests to the meeting.
- Glen outlined the purpose of the AGM.
- Glen outlined the meeting process.
- Scrutineer advised the Chair that there are 23 voting members including 10 directors of the association present at the meeting, constituting a quorum.
- 2023 AGM minutes were provided to attending members for review.

MOTION: Motion to approve the 2023 Annual General Meeting minutes by Doug McNeill, seconded by Barb English, all in favour, none opposed. Motion carried.

- The current membership stands at 330 out of a possible 946, representing 35% of households.
- Daniel Kowal presented the President's Report recapping the CA's activities throughout the past year.
 - Question 1: Asked to provide a breakdown of the results from canvasing the community for their opinion on the city's rezoning proposal. Answered by Jim.
- Matthew Watt (Treasurer) presented a brief summary of financial activities and the Treasurer's Report.

MOTION: Motion by Suzanne Brown to accept the financial statements for the CKE Community Association for the fiscal year end March 31, 2024 as presented by the board. Seconded by Suzanne Tough, all in favour, none opposed. Motion carried.

MOTION: Motion by Suzanne Brown that Federation of Calgary Communities Professional Audit Service be appointed the auditor of the Community Association until the close of the next Annual General Meeting of the membership or until a successor is appointed, seconded by Guy Buchanan, no discussion, all in favour, none opposed. Motion carried.

 As per the CKE bylaws, we now need a motion to ratify all of the actions of the Board of Directors for the past year.

MOTION: Motion by Jessica Kopitar that the meeting ratify all of the actions of the Board of Directors for the past year. Seconded by Claudette Stivin, no discussion, all in favour, none opposed. Motion carried.

 Election of the directors for the ensuing year or until successors are elected or appointed.

MOTION: Motion by Lance Titchkosky to nominate the following members to stand for directors until the next AGM. Seconded by Dawn Messer, all in favour, none opposed. Motion Carried.

- Glen Haslhofer for the role of President
- Zonita Haggis for the role of Vice-President.
- Matthew Watt for the role of Treasurer
- Jim MacLean for the role of Secretary
- Jessica Kopitar for the role of Communication Director
- Debra McArthur for the role of Membership Director
- Harry Schaepsmeyer for the role of Community Garden Club Director
- Doug McNeill for the role of Planning and Development Director
- Suzanne Brown for the role of Social Director
- Lance Titchkosky for the role of Director at Large
- Alanna Roberts for the role of Director at Large
- Rodney Smith for the role of Director at Large
- Call for additional nominations to the Board of Directors was made. No further nominations from the floor.
- Prior to officially filling the positions, the chair asked our scrutineer if all of the nominees for the board of directors are members of the Community Association she replied, "Yes they are".

• Since there were no further nominations, the Chair declared the nominations to be closed, and the positions filled by acclamation.

MOTION: Motion by Jim MacLean to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Rob Kopitar, all in favour, no questions, none opposed. Motion carried.

Meeting adjourned at 7:48 pm Minutes recorded by Zonita Haggis

Meeting was followed by the presentation of the Community Builder Award.